Local Server & Drupal part Duex or maybe thrice

The thing is you want something that is up-to-date, yet I also have seen where WAMP is a often used service for Drupal. I don’t have the cash right now to pay for support, so thought I’d go with the free supported XAMPP… had trouble installed WAMP however I then had trouble with WAMP. Decided to throw a few cards… sot see what they had to say about either XAMPP or WAMPP. I drew the 8 of Pentacles & 7 of Cups for XAMPP (8oP is my current 21Ways card), and for WAMP I drew, 4 of Swords, an 5 of Cups. I took it to mean with XAMPP I’d have work, but enjoyable work, and options. With WAMP I’d need a vacation when I was done and I’d feel like I lost or left something. So went with XAMPP.

Added a password to the mySQL, and then… changed the config.inc.php which I had never done in either previous installation. Although I went with the default for WAMP so I don’t know if this was my trouble or not.

I never did this: NameVirtualHost *:80 in the virtual host file. This may have been my problem the entire time. I also found where I needed to change something in the config.inc.php to cookie. That I think might be XAMPP only. I’ve change the document root as well to /www. I did get an installation of Drupal to run, but it wasn’t working correctly. I couldn’t access it via extreem.tst nor could I get back to XAMPP’s starting page. So… here we go for a 4th time.

xampp\apache\bin\php.ini removed the ; from the mcrypt.dll line

accessed security through XAMPP and added a password to root for MySQL

xampp\phpMyAdmin\config.inc.php made sure it said cookie

xampp\apache\conf\httpd.conf changed Listen 80 to Listen 127.0.0.1:80 & DocumentRoot to “/www” where I am locating my files (Drupal, WordPress). <Directory to “/www”> . Made sure Include conf/extra/httpd-vhosts.conf is unmasked. (Added install.php to DirectoryIndex.)

xampp\apache\conf\extra\httpd-vhosts.conf unmasked NameVirtualHost and made it 127.0.0.1:80(i’m using the 127.0.0.1 because I read somewhere that would make sure no one from the outside could access it, I’m not sure how true it is, but hey why not)

Going to 127.0.0.1 and it brings me to and index of www. this isn’t right.

Going to the security location I received accessed denied. I went into phpMyAdmin and entered a password into the MySQL Database and then click PHP Code

Stopped and Started everything. Got into the security place. But not xampp. Returned the root doc to xampp/htdocs and I can get there again. Now I can’t get apache to run..

Reinstall. Set password in security area for root mysql.

After setting up a virtual host I get accessed denied. sheessh!

Ok what was necessary was adding this to the xampp/apache/conf/httpd.conf

<Directory “/www/drupal-5”>
Order allow,deny
Allow all
AllowOverride ALL (this was added to allow clean urls
</Directory>

To get clean urls I needed to uncomment LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so, it also send to uncomment (node 15365) AddModule mod-rewrite.c I didn’t find that and when I added it apache wouldn’t load. so with just the 1st uncommented clean url’s did work.

Whew! Got there!!!! Now tomorrow I’ll try adding the other sites.

Leave a Reply

